Foundation, Concrete and Earthquake Engineering

Seismic Design of Bridges: Indian Provisions

Seismic codes are unique to a particular region or country. They take into account the local seismology, accepted level of seismic risk, structural typologies, and materials and methods used in construction.

The first formal seismic code in India, namely IS 1893, was published in 1962 which is the indicative of the level of progress a country has made in the field of earthquake engineering.

Seismic design of bridges in India is covered in three codes, namely IS 1893 (1984) from the BIS, IRC 6 (2000) from the Indian Roads Congress, and Bridge Rules (1964) from the Ministry of Railways. All highway bridges are required to comply with IRC 6, and all railway bridges with Bridge Rules. 
Rajiv Gandhi Sea Link: First sea bridge of India
These three codes are conceptually the same, even though there are some differences in their implementation. After the 2001 Bhuj earthquake, in 2002, the IRC released interim provisions that make significant improvements to the IRC6 (2000) seismic provisions.

1 comment:

  1. It would be so cool if every single building in the world had that kind of installation

    We'd feel so much more in safety!